Liebster Award

Image

I’m so grateful to be considered as an up and coming blogger by my fellow writer Tessa Kohler and receive the Liebster Award. I got curious and did a little research into this award and found a post on Sopphey Says about its origins. Lieb means beloved or dearest in German. It is a peer-nominated award that is for blogs with less than 200 followers and works a little bit like chain mail. The earliest mention of the award she found is from 2010 by a German blogger.  There are no rules or judges, it’s basically an official way to tell someone they are awesome. Since I’m new to blogging, I don’t know enough bloggers with less than 200 followers to nominate more, but I will update this post as I come across new blogs.

The only thing I have to do to “accept” this award is answer the questions that came with the nomination, so here it goes.

1. Why do you blog?
All artists desire to receive feedback for their work. I consider myself an artist in various occupations, as a musician, singer, and writer. I have been longing to expose myself to “the world” for a while and this blog seemed the most efficient way to do that. I’m not blogging because I feel I have special powers of expression, or anything to say that has not been said before, but because I have a message that I think people can relate to. Really, I just want my readers to know that they can find joy and happiness in a seemingly mundane and insignificant existence, and that they’re not alone in looking for an answer to the question I think we’re all asking each other constantly, “Do you know what I mean?” All humans want connection and understanding with others, and I think this is my phone call to the internet-world asking for a response to my “Hello?”

2. What is one of your favorite songs and why?
I changed this question to say “one of” my favorite songs because I have so many favorite songs and I’m constantly adding to the list. However, one song that comes to mind is from one of my favorite bands, Future of Forestry, and is called “Slow Your Breath Down”. I love this song not only because the lyrics remind me to slow down in God’s presence and breathe through the painful moments of life, but because it is musically interesting and beautiful. Listen to it below and let me know how much you like it! : )

3. Describe yourself in three words.
Passionate, Creative, Enthusiastic

4. Who is the one person that can always make you smile?
My sister, Sarah, is my best friend and confidant. She is also hilarious and can make me laugh just by giving me a look.

5. Describe your idea of a perfect day.
My perfect day is some variation of me getting to hang out with all my friends all day. We cook brunch and drink mimosas then watch movies and/or go shopping all day. We end the day at a classy lounge eating cheesecake and drinking cocktails we didn’t pay for.

6. If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?
The Moon because it’s the freaking Moon and not many people have been there before. Also, Europe and India because I have family there.

7. Where do you find inspiration in life?
I find inspiration from my family and friends. Also, Leslie Knope is my inspiration for getting through challenges and obstacles in life. Her work ethic and enthusiasm is on point. I desire tore-center Christ as my daily and lifelong inspiration for everything I do (this is a long process).

8. If you could spend a day with one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?
Jesus, because He’s someone I’m trying to live like. It’d be cool to see Him in action, even for a day.

9. What would you like to be remembered for?
Helping people achieve their academic and personal growth potential.

10. Have you ever experienced a turning point in your life? If so, what caused it, and what have you learned from it?
I have experienced many turning points in my life. Usually my failure causes it, and I learn more about myself and how much I can’t do anything without total reliance on Christ. This is something I am constantly re-learning. I plan to blog about this most recent turning point that happened last semester soon.

Beck

One thought on “Liebster Award

  1. I love your answers! Especially what you said under question #1 about everyone seeking for connection with other people. And I hadn’t ever thought about it before how we’re always asking “Do you know what I mean?” but it’s really so true! Great post! :)

Leave a Reply

