Know Thyself

leadership

The most interesting LEAD workshop I attended was the TAIS Debrief, which went over my scores for The Attentional Interpersonal Style Inventory (TAIS).  A description from the makers: “The TAIS measures constructs crucial to effective performance, especially performance in high pressure situations…results will emphasize how you are likely to react under stressful conditions and will illustrate how pressure affects your ability to concentrate, stay motivated, and communicate effectively.” This test is so legit and it’s interesting to hear how I compare with others tested. It didn’t really tell me too much that I didn’t know already, but it did bring some problems to my attention. haha Get it? I’m hilarious.

What I learned from the test was that I am best at paying attention to a specific task for long periods of time, while being relatively good at being aware of my environment and thinking conceptually. My biggest distractions are internal, which basically means I get caught up over-thinking things and dealing with my emotions. #preach

I love being busy and having a diverse number of activities, but that can backfire when my schedule is too full. #college I scored high in the need to control others, which means I like leading others, and high in self-confidence, which means I believe in myself. But my self-critical score was low, which means I’m hard on myself when I make mistakes. #mylife I’m really intellectually competitive, even with myself, and this intimidates people. #maybethisiswhyI’msingle

One of the most interesting, but not surprising, results was that I am equally extroverted and introverted; my scores in both categories were the same. This means that I enjoy being with people and being in the spotlight, as well as needing alone time and reflecting. According to the test, this is very rare and is confusing for people who think you have to be one or the other. This wasn’t surprising because I’ve known this for a while. I’m always borderline when I take the Myers-Briggs and I’ve noticed that I slowly go insane when I’m stuck in the house for more than two days or constantly out of the house for a few days.

The last part of the results basically told me that I like to talk and express my ideas, which are generally good ideas and encouraging to others. It also said that I need to listen more, which I’ve noticed is not my strongest attribute although I am working on it. I really like to talk, and as you can read from this blog I have a lot to say. The results also indicated that I have troubled voicing concerns or problems to others because I think it will ruin relationships. I have a tendency to swallow my feelings and deal with them internally rather than addressing the problem, probably because I’m non-confrontational when it comes to dealing with coworkers. People also tell me that I’m hypersensitive because I take criticism personally, so when something is wrong, I usually just think it’s my problem and try to move on. I think this blog helps me vent that frustration indirectly though. Maybe that’s a good thing?

Congratulations, you now know more than you ever wanted to know about me.

Beck

Leave a Reply

